Rise/Sink/Float Week One

Each Monday, we’ll look at 3 teams that are rising, sinking, and floating in our Football Relativity comparison. We’ll update the full comparison tomorrow.

Rise – San Francisco 49ers – At the last minute, I put the 49ers in the playoffs in my season predictions. That was a statement about their competitiveness and also their division. But now I’m wondering if I should have put them above the Cardinals in the NFC West. The Niners are a tough team with a solid quarterback in Shaun Hill, and they’re going to be a tough out each and every week. Mike Singletary’s club is on the way to a solid season.

Sink – Carolina Panthers – The Panthers were the club I removed from the playoffs to put the Niners in. I thought the Panthers would remain competitive as long as Jake Delhomme didn’t melt down like he did in the playoffs last year. But Delhomme repeated his collapse with four picks and a fumble, and that squashed the Panthers’ hopes. Now I believe that either the Panthers are done or Delhomme is. It needs to be the latter.

Float – New Orleans Saints – Everyone was going crazy over Drew Brees’ 6-TD performance, and with good reason. But giving up 27 points to Detroit did nothing to alleviate my concerns about their defense. They won’t shoot up the comparison until we see better things from that unit.

5 Comments

Filed under Football Relativity, NFL games, Rise/Sink/Float

5 responses to “Rise/Sink/Float Week One

  1. chase

    What are some options at qb for Carolina?

  2. rn575

    Post coming later this week with options… feel free to share your ideas as a comment here and we’ll include them

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  4. Great site, how do I subscribe?

  5. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

